Alphabet Backwards – Little Victories by Alphabet Backwards

AB little victories 1400


  1. Sunday Best
  2. Pockets
  3. Ladybird
  4. Blink of an Eye
  5. Big Top
  6. Taller
  7. Plastic
  8. Panda Eyes
  9. Lipshakes
  10. Screenplays
  11. Maisonette
  12. Elton John

Released October 1st, 2012

Buy Alphabet Backwards – Little Victories

Pop music is a beautiful thing. It calls upon the most relatable experiences – heartache, heartbreak, love and lust, and filters these emotions through catchy melodies to pull on the heartstrings of the listener. Every now and then a band comes along who can transform the trials and tribulations of everyday life into truly uplifting music. Alphabet Backwards is one of those bands.

Hailing from the vibrant Oxford music scene, lead singer James Hitchman began writing songs under the Alphabet Backwards name in 2008. He soon recruited neighbours Josh Ward (of the Joshward84 T-Mobile ad fame) to play bass, and Paul Davidson to drum. The band found their keyboard extraordinaire Rob Thomas playing the organ at the local church, and vocalist Steph Ward joined the band after her brother Josh heard her singing in the shower.

Past singles Polar Bears, 80s Pop Video and Blink of an Eye have received support from Steve Lamacq, Huw Stephens and Tom Robinson, with 80s Pop Video being named Lamacq’s single of the week. They have been extremely active on the festival scene, playing Green Man, Truck, Wychwood amongst many others.

Their much anticipated debut album Little Victories remains true to the effervescent sound the band have developed over the past years, while also honing and refining their songcraft and production. A true coming of age album, the songs tell stories of youth’s vibrancy, mingled with the greenshoots of adulthood.

Little Victories was produced by Brian O’Shaughnessy (Primal Scream, Tender Trap, Long Blondes, Birdy). It features strings by Amy May of Paris Motel and trumpets by Gary Olson of The Ladybug Transistor.